Sketchabilities #131 – Blue blue Maldives

Hello !!

This fortnight, Sketchabilities is teaming up with whitewith1! This means for this mini project, we made use of Sketchabilities’ pretty sketch here, plus only use the colour’s Placid Blue and white for the layout (You can view white with 1’s website for more information).

It was different for a change and I too tried a few new things in the process…. mostly inspired by my friends and other scrapbookers!

131

 

For this layout i decided to take out my blue mists and watercolour paints to play! I used 2 white card stocks, 1 was misted with 2 different shades of blue, mainly Blue Skies & Water Slide from Tattered Angels. And on another sheet, I mixed dark blue and white watercolour paints to create what I think looked like Placid Blue and painted it randomly all over the paper to create a brush like effect.

After both misted and painted cardstocks have dried, I decided to do something Paige inspired and took out my square punch to play. I have long been a fan of Paige and have always been inspired to use paper punches to make layouts. I punched out squares with the brush painted placid blue painted paper, focusing more on the varied brush strokes on each punched square.. and then layered the punched pieces on the misted cardstock in a tile format. Really liked how every square’s different and uniquely its own!

Janice Yue Sketch #131

 

Then for the photo – My friend Veron introduced to me not long ago an idea called the Waterfall card (Click to see the video that inspired me). And I too decided to incorporate this idea on this layout. Its really a great idea if you would like to add hidden photos or messages to your layout.. Just pull the slider to reveal the hidden pages behind. I had 3 pages altogether!

The only issue with making a waterfall slider on the layout is you can’t layer embellishments on the first page or too near the photos or your slider will not slide.

DSCN5542 DSCN5543 DSCN5544 DSCN5548

 

This layout really is a layout of many firsts and I really had an interesting time! Hope it has inspired you like how others inspired me too x

 

Leave a Reply

